Skip to main content

A Late Afternoon Meeting with New Music Composers

Tuesday, April 6, 2021, 6:30 pm – 8:00 pm

online concert to be streamed on CEU Culture Hub, streaming link:

followed by virtual chat with composers with Abigél Varga, Slavomír Hořínka and first violin David Danel on Zoom:…

Meeting ID: 919 6587 1945
Passcode: 701767


David Danel, Roman Hranička – violin

Ondřej Martinovský – viola

Balázs Adorján – violoncello


Daniel Nice (2011)

Varga Abigé Scrigno (2019)

Slavomír Hoří Words Without Thoughts (2016)

Varga Abigé Porcelain (2019)

Quite a last minute idea occurred to us, fama Q, during a shooting of one classical music concert: why not to use time and space we have in order to support also music being created in our time? Why to stick so much only to the "historical", to "tradition", however beautiful?
So, we put together several pieces by our friends-composers, some of them written specifically for us, some "adopted". We handpicked composers of the Central European countries: Czech Republic (Czechia), Slovakia and Hungary with the aim to bring some inspirational music that one cannot hear on every radio station or even a concert stage to every listener with ears and heart open to listen.

Different places, different ages, life stories, personal music & art aesthetics, probably even different expectations towards the audience and their feedback, yet, many features re similar, if not the same: a struggle to find and refine one's unique artistic voice, personal signature and musical style, no compromise and always a searching attitude : meet composers Daniel Matej (Bratislava, Slovakia), Slavomír Hořínka (Prague, Czech Republic) and Abigél Varga (Budapest, Hungary). We love to introduce you to their music that we love! We also hope you can enjoy it, too, and that you can see a glimpse of our composer friends' personalities, sound-world or soundscape as some say, and let yourselves get inspired by this late afternoon meeting.

Slavomír Hořínka's words about his string quartet featured here:
King Claudius: "My words fly up, my thoughts remain below: Words without thoughts never to heaven go."
W.Shakespeare: Hamlet, Act.III, Scene III.
"Let the fuckers try and work that one out…"
John Lennon to Pete Shotton, after writing I am the Walrus.

About fama Q:
fama Q string quartet was founded in 2005 in Prague, Czech Republic. Its members are also orchestral musicians with the PKF-Prague Philharmonia and the Czech Philharmonic. fama Q musicians were trained in classical music having a strong affinity with the works of Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, Dvořák, Janáček, Shostakovitch or Martinů. Beyond the classical chamber repertoire music fama Q presents works of the 20th century composers and the avant-garde classics such as Schoenberg, Berg, Webern, Duttileux, Cage, Nono, Ligeti, Kurtág, Kagel, Xenakis as well as the international and Czech composers of our times, established „icons“ or emerging talents, like G.F. Haas, Husa, Srnka, Adámek, Kopelent, Smolka, Matej, Burlas, Zemek, Kadeřábek, Rataj.

fama Q is internationally recognised, performing at the festivals, in concert series and concert halls around the globe (Prague Spring, Contempuls, ISCM World New Music Days, Israel Festival Jerusalem, Les musicales de Quiberon, Poznańska wiosna, Cluj Modern, Música de la Mancha, Philips Collection Washington D.C.)